In 2014 we raised £7380 for NSPCC - See report

In 2013 we raised £8,080 for NSPCC - See report

In 2012 we raised £8,779 for NSPCC - See report

In 2011 we raised £7,135 for NSPCC - See report

In 2010 we raised £10,024 for NSPCC - See report

In 2009 we raised £11,155 for NSPCC - See report

In 2008 we raised £8,400 for Radio Broadland Kids - see report

In 2007 we raised £9,405 for Big C

In 2006 we raised £8200 for East Anglian Children's Hospices

Our Sponsors and supporters 2015

BUngay Town Council


Alex Moore

M & H Plastics

Norfolk Suffolk 4x4 response



Bungay Town Trust

Smart Clinic

Sprake & Kingsley


Welcome to the Bungay Marathon

The next race is on Sunday 17 April 2016.

Entries are now open.

See our FACEBOOK for news updates.

There are no Postal Entries


Alan Smalls wins 31st Bungay Black Dog Marathon

COLCHESTER Harriers athlete Alan Smalls won the 32nd Bungay Black Dog Marathon, as he led virtually from start to finish.

By the time the field of over 200 had reached Mettingham, a mile and a half out, he had overtaken the early leader, and never relinquished it, despite being tracked gamely all the way arouse the Waveney Valley course by unattached runner Richard Watkinson.

Smalls finally won by over two minutes in a time of 2 hours, 47 minutes 10 seconds, in a race run partly in light rain and with a strong head breeze on the homeward leg of the two-lap race. He said afterwards it was tough. “I think I went off too quickly and I tightened up on the second lap,” he said. “I was trying for 2-42 but I finished in 2-47.” But he was pleased with his day’s work – the first time had had run the Bungay event for about 12 years.

Wilkinson finished a creditable runner-up in 2-49:38. Mark Sands, also unattached and from Boston, was third in 2-51:52.

The ladies also found it a tough race. Courtney Thornberry, from Kenilworth, led for the first half, but was gradually caught by Tiptree Roadrunner Tracey Harrington as she faded over the second lap. Harrington eventually won by well over four minutes in a time of 3-42:31, with unattached runner Lisa Symonds moving up to finish second in 3-47-36. Thornberry finished third in 3-59:40.

The half-marathon attracted 600 entries, with many runners using it as a training exercise for the forthcoming London Marathon.  The men’s race was won by City of Norwich Athletic Club’s Dominic Oliver, still a junior, in 1-18:55, 36 seconds ahead of clubmate Neil Davison, who clocked 1-19:31 Unattached Ipswich runner Adam Howlett was third in 1-20:03.

To the delight of the home crowds Bungay Black Dog Running Club’s Justine Fawcett won the women’s half-marathon in 1-34:25, more than six minutes ahead of Anneka Charters, of Mornington Chasers. Her time was 1-40:36, with the Black Dogs’ Joanne Cox taking third place in 1-42:08. North Norfolk Beach Runners (Colin Stark, Carmine de Grandis, Vinne Purdy) won the full marathon team prize, with City of Norwich AC (Dominic Oliver, Neil Davison, Charlie Parr) winning the half-marathon team prize. Bungay Black Dog (Justine Fawcett, Joanne Cox, Sophie Bell) won the women’s half-marathon team prize.

Proceeds from this year’s event, which carries the British Association of Road Runners gold standard, and included a family fun run, will again go to the NSPCC. The North Suffolk NSPCC branch president, Lord Somerleyton, started the full marathon with the Town Reeve of Bungay, Michael Davies, and then ran in the half-marathon, started by Mr Davies.

Town Mayor Judy Cloke presented the prizes at the end of the event.

There was a large field in the fun run, with categories for those five and under up to adults.

Results: five and under – boys, Hugo Last, girls, Elisha Curtis; 6-8, boys Joe Rutherford, girls Imogen Wright; 9-13, boys Sam Rutherford, girls Grace Foster; 14-17, boys Like Spear, girls Lauren Howe; adults, men Simon Cowley, women Paula Potter.


Prize list:

Full marathon:

Men – 1 Alan Smalls (Colchester Harriers) 2-47:10, 2 Richard Wilkinson (unattached) 2-49:38, 3 M ark Sands (unattached) 2-52:52; V40 – Jim Hilton (unattched) 3-01:53, V50 Stephe Howard (Ely Road Runners) 3-13:18; V60 Peter Johnson 100 Marathon Club) 3-31:00; U21, Declan Craven-Wilkinson. Team – North Norfok brach Runners (Colin Stark, Carmne de Grandis, Vinne Purdy).

Women – 1 Tracey Harrington (Tiptree Roadrunners) 3-42:31, 2 Lisa Symonds (unattached) 3-47:07, 3 Courtney Thornberry (Kenilworth) 3-59:40. V45 – Karen Smith (Ryston Runners) 4-01:40; F55 – Bobby Saeurzapf (Bungay Black Dog); U21, Camille Bault.


Men – 1 Dominic Oliver (City of Norwich AC) 1-18:55, 2 Neil Davison (City of Norwich AC) 1-19:31, 3 Adam Howlett (unattached) 1-20:03; V40 Mark Furnace (Ipswich Jaffa) 1-20:57; V50, Mark Garrett (Norwich Road Runners) 1-21:55; V60 – Stephen Dady (Wymondham  AC) 1-33:59; V70, David Rothon (unattached) 2-34:00); team, City of Norwich AC (Dominic Oliver, Neil Davison, Charlie Parr).

Women – 1 Justine Fawcett (Bungay Black Dog) 1-34:25, 2 Anneka Charters (Mornington Chasers) 1-40:36, 3 Joanne Cox (Bungay Black Dog) 1-42:08. V35, Rebecca Langford (Waveney Valley AC) 1-46:31; V45, Rebecca Pitman (Springfield Striders) 1-42:40; V55, Paula Speechley (unattached) 1-47:22; V65, Veronica Manly (Bungay Black Dog) 1-58:15; team, Bungay Black Dog (Justine Fawcett, Joanne Cox, Sophie Bell); Jim Jervis Trophy for young runners, Sophie Bell). 

For the full results of the marathon & half marathon Click Here



Realbuzz England Athletics Lottery funded and Sport England